TOP
Booze

Winter 2022 Must Reads

It’s that time of year to curl up with a good book with a good cup of tea. Here’s some new book releases that will surely warm you up.

Bourbon Is My Comfort Food
Heather Wibbels

Bourbon Is My Comfort Food reveals the delicious beauty of bourbon cocktails and the joy of creating them. Whether readers are new to bourbon or steeped in its history and myriad uses, they will gain the knowledge to make great bourbon cocktails, share them with friends and family, and expand their whiskey horizons—because the only thing better than bourbon is sharing it with a friend.

From building your home bar to basics on cocktail technique, Heather Wibbels showcases classic bourbon cocktails—like the Old Fashioned, the Manhattan, Whiskey Sours, Highballs, Juleps and more—in approachable ways. The book also features several Cocktail Labs, which invite readers to explore classic cocktail elements and experiment with flavors, textures, infusions, syrups, and garnishes. With over 140 recipes, this book is more than a cocktail recipe book—it’s a primer on manipulating flavors and balance in whiskey cocktails.

But more than that, Bourbon Is My Comfort Food is a celebration of ten years of bourbon education and cocktails by Bourbon Women, the first group dedicated to women and their love of the spirit. Wibbels celebrates with cocktails from the Bourbon Women leadership team, branches across the nation, and winners from the group’s annual Not Your Pink Drink contest. Get out your cocktail shaker and explore the wide world of bourbon cocktails with Heather Wibbels and Bourbon Women!

$28

Royal Trivia: Your Guide to the Modern British Royal Family 

by Rachel Bowie and Roberta Fiorito

Introducing Royal Trivia: Your Guide to the Modern British Royal Family by Rachel Bowie and Roberta Fiorito [978-1-64604-260-9; $19.95; Ulysses Press; December 2021], a fantastic compendium of fascinating facts and stories about the British monarchy that will keep you in the know about your favorite modern royals.

Written by the cohosts of the Royally Obsessed podcast, recently named one of the best podcasts of 2021 by Town & CountryRoyal Trivia uncovers everything from Kate Middleton’s theatrical upbringing (ahem, she played Eliza Doolittle from My Fair Lady at age eleven) to how Princess Diana’s second pregnancy announcement served as inspiration for Prince Harry and Meghan Markle for their Valentine’s Day reveal. You’re simultaneously getting a glimpse of the royals’ evolution within the monarchy—and, in some cases, like with Harry and Meghan, life beyond it.

From the jaw-dropping weddings and headline-making fashion moments to the births of new royals and history behind the most regal events, this book is perfect for fans of The Crown or journalist Elizabeth Holmes’s “so many thoughts” royal style Instagram series. Inside you’ll find the royal scoop, including:

  • Details about the coronation of Queen Elizabeth II
  • Drama decoded, from the Sussexes’ move to Montecito to the Cambridges’ path to the throne
  • Facts about Princess Diana’s royal courtship
  • Sartorial specifics (including more on the revenge dress)
  • …and so much more!

$19.95

Gin: The Ultimate Companion

By Ian Buxton

Gin continues to rise in popularity, with exciting new crafted gins launching on a regular basis. So naturally, leading spirits writer Ian Buxton has looked to revise and renew his focus on this most fashionable of spirit in Gin: The Ultimate Companion!

This new book from bestselling drinks writer Ian Buxton builds on the tremendous success of 101 Gins to Try Before you Die. It includes background details on distilleries and craft artisans, tasting notes and tips on the must-try latest gins as well as the eternal classics and longstanding favorites. In this book he brings his customary wit, industry knowledge and highly developed palate to this fast-evolving and dynamic market with enthusiastic, book-buying drinkers keen for more ginsights!

Ian Buxton has been working in and around the whiskey industry for close to 30 years, but has been drinking professionally for a good deal longer. He began writing regularly for Whisky Magazine shortly after it launched, and now also writes in a variety of trade and consumer titles here and abroad. He has published a number of books, including the bestselling 101 Whiskies to Try Before You Die and 101 Gins to Try Before You Die.

$15.00

Diet for Great Sex: Food For Male and Female Sexual Health

By Christine DeLozier

In Christine DeLozier, L.Ac.’s new book Diet for Great Sex: Food for Male and Female Sexual Health, she emphasizes how integral nutrition is to keep yourself feeling good, both in and out of romantic settings, and offers recipes to ensure a great night. She also emphasizes why and how women can feel attractive and amazing at any size.

“We must care for the biological design of our bodies and diet affects sex,” research scientist and acupuncturist DeLozier says. “A great deal of clinical research demonstrates that certain eating habits increase blood flow, balances hormones and help nerves to be most responsive to touch.”

DeLozier’s great sex action plan includes all the ingredients to improve your intimate life from the inside out: meal plans, sample menus and a dietary planner.

Available for interviews, bylines, or expert commentary, Christine DeLozier can discuss topics in Diet for Great Sex as well as:

  • The Ultimate Date Night Menu: Exactly what to eat to get optimal blood flow and passion
  • Recipes to Improve Your Intimate Life: How to prepare snacks and meals that will improve your intimate physiology
  • The Benefits of Fasting on Your Sex Life: How to use fasting to your advantage — without ever feeling like you’re starving
  • The Magic of Mushrooms: Why mushrooms are one of the best ingredients to improve your intimate life (and they don’t have to be the magic kind)
  • How to Optimize Your Nervous System for Better Sex: Increase your sensation, sensitivity and pleasure
  • Why the Vascular System is Key to Great Sex: How to maximize blood flow to improve libido, pleasure and performance
  • What Ancient Chinese Medicine Got Right: How principles of yin, yang and qi apply to sex
  • Non-Dietary Ingredients for Intimacy: The importance of sleep, environment and communication to great sex 

$17

How to Be Italian: Eat, Drink, Dress, Travel and Love La Dolce Vita

by Maria Pasquale

Is it pausing to enjoy an aperitivo or gelato? A passeggiata down a laneway steeped in history? An August spent tanning at the beach?

This book is a celebration of the Italian lifestyle – an education in drinking to savour the moment, travelling indulgently, and cherishing food and culture. A lesson in the dolce far niente: the sweetness of doing nothing. We may not all live in the bel paese, but anyone can learn from the rich tapestry of life on the boot.

From the innovation of Italian fashion and design, the Golden Age of its cinema to the Roman Empire’s cultural echoes (and some very good espresso), take a dip into the Italian psyche and learn to eat, love, dress, think, and have fun as only the Italians can.

$19.95

«

»

what do you think?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *